KCJEA 37th Annual Winter Conference

February 6-8, 2019
Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
Lexington, Kentucky

Click here for a printable Agenda

WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 6, 2019               

10:00 am   Registration

1:00 pm     Opening Session
                   Welcome-KCJEA President Alex Barnett
1:15 pm     DLG Commissioner Sandra K. Dunahoo
1:30 pm     Kentucky Attorney General Andy Beshear
2:00 pm    Kentucky Workforce Development Director Kristina Slattery

2:30 - 5:00 pm     Breakout Sessions (45 min. each – choose 3 to attend)

  • The Kentucky Mesonet: Bringing Value to Local Communities-Director of the Kentucky Mesonet Dr. Stu Foster, Chief Meteorologist for the Louisville National Weather Service John Gordon
  • DLG Activities and Opportunities-DLG Commissioner Sandra K. Dunahoo & DLG Team
  • Life as a Jailer-Mike Simpson, Oldham County Jailer, VP KY Jailers Association
  • Rural and Secondary Roads Basics, Commissioner Gray Tomblyn II, Executive Director Craig Caudill, Executive Staff Advisor Shelby Peel

5:00 - 6:30 pm     President’s Reception
                               Exclusively Sponsored by: The Companies of Waste Connections, Inc.

6:30 pm     Dinner on your own

8:00 pm     Hospitality Suite Open
                   -Sponsored by Perfection Group


7:30 am     Registration & Breakfast

8:30 am     General Session
                    2019 Legislative Perspective
                   Kentucky Senate President Pro Tem-Senator David Givens
                   Kentucky Speaker of the House of Representatives-Representative David Osborne
9:15 am     Executive Director of the Kentucky Office of Homeland Security John Holiday
10:15 am   Kentucky House Minority Floor Leader Rocky Adkins
10:45 am   Criminal Justice Reform
                  -Pretrial Justice Institute CEO Cherise Fanno Burdeen
                  -Kentucky Justice Cabinet Secretary John Tilley
                  -LaRue County Judge/Executive Tommy Turner

Noon     Luncheon
               -Keynote Speaker: Governor Matt Bevin

1:00 pm  Legislative Panel
                -KCJEA Executive Director Vince Lang
                -KMCA Executive Director JC Young
                -KACo Director of Governmental Relations Shellie Hampton
                -KCADD Executive Director Tony Wilder

2:30 - 5:00 pm     Breakout Sessions (45 min. each – choose 3 to attend)

  • Managing Solid Waste at the Local Level-Division of Solid Waste Local Assistance Section Supervisor Lynn True, Division of Solid Waste Environmental Scientist IV Deborah DeLong
  • Selecting Health Insurance for Fiscal Courts-Vice President of Benefits and Wellness for Peel and Holland Insurance Kelly Harding
  • County and Regional Hazard Mitigation Planning-Lincoln Trail ADD Executive Director Mike Buress, Pennyrile ADD Community and Economic Development Assistant Director Amy Frogue, FIVCO ADD Economic Development Director Kelly Ward
  • ABC’s of Alcoholic Beverage Control-ABC General Counsel Steve Humphress

5:00 pm     Hospitality Suite Open
7:00 pm     Annual Banquet
                   -Keynote Speaker: Honorable Pamela Goodwine, Judge of the Kentucky Court of Appeals
9:00 pm     Hospitality Suite Open 


8:00 am     Breakfast Buffet

8:30 am     Kentucky State Treasurer Alison Ball
9:00 am     Dr. Sara Pizano, DVM, MA – Animal Welfare Strategist
9:30 am     Hindsight is 2020: Census Preparations
                   -Kentucky Partnership Specialist US Census Bureau Michelle Elison
10:00 am     Kentucky Infrastructure Update-Boone County Judge/Executive Gary Moore

10:15 am     Conference Wrap-Up

10:30 am     KCJEA General Membership Meeting

Registration Fee: 
$280 before January 25, 2019
$300 after January 25, 2019

Last day to CANCEL registration for a refund is January 25, 2019.



Spouse Name (if attending):








**ALL FIELDS (except spouse) ARE REQUIRED**



© 2016 Kentucky County Judge/Executive Association 115 East 2nd Street, Frankfort, KY40601

Powered By Revize Login